If you were riding your TW from Mammoth to Victorville on dirt roads......
Close

Like Tree12Likes
  • 1 Post By ECVMatt
  • 3 Post By MidnightRider
  • 1 Post By ECVMatt
  • 1 Post By FIRE UP
  • 2 Post By NorthernSpy
  • 1 Post By Tiny-Wheel-200
  • 3 Post By RockyTFS

Thread: If you were riding your TW from Mammoth to Victorville on dirt roads......

If you were riding your TW from Mammoth to Victorville on dirt roads......

about 300 miles on dirt roads...and had about 700 dollars to spend to modify your stock bike...what would you do?

I am going to make this trip in April with a 2018 stock TW. I am going to take about five days with one night in a motel and the rest out in the desert. I have been driving these roads in a truck for the past 20 years and know them well but this will be the first time on a bike.

Thanks for any input.

Matt
    tylermoney likes this.

I would at least get a Seat Concepts seat for comfort, and a Cycleracks rack for your camp gear.
    Other common mods are Bar Risers, Wider Foot Pegs, Shinko Trials Tire up front, MSR fuel canister, etc.
    I'm sure you can equip the bike with all the comforts & must have mods for $ 700.

I have ridden my TW quite a bit around the Eastern Sierras, and I think you should have no problem making the trip from Mammoth to Victorville, especially in 5 days.
    I'm sure you will need to hop on the 395 here and there, but since you already know many of the dirt roads, you should have no trouble navigating the route, to stay on dirt as much as possible.

I live in SoCal, but truck the bike 300 miles up to Big Pine, Bishop, Toms Place, Benton, etc, for base camp, and ride around from there.
    Have done a few 150 Mile + days on the TW up there. I try and stick to dirt, & back roads as much as possible, but have no problem jumping on the Hwy for short jaunts.
    The TW can cruise 55-60 on the Hwy, and when cars come up and start riding my a**, I just move over toward the shoulder and wave them past.