TW200 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there! I have a '00 TW200 that stalled out while riding. Now it cranks but won't start.

I replaced the spark plug, but it doesn't spark when grounded to the block. Neither did the old plug. I know the carb is good, the battery is charged, and the filter is clear...

That leaves me with a few options. It's either the coil/plug cap, CDI box, or stator. The battery is charged, so it's probably not the stator - Which leaves the Plug Cap and the CDI box.

Has anyone had a similar problem? What was the fix? I'm new to fixing TW's and I don't want to throw $200+ at a CDI if I don't have to.

·
Registered
2,158 Posts
What makes you feel it is not fuel?

First time out on my TW, I had the rascal in pieces before I noticed the odometer and did the math. Never had a full tank go empty in only 78 miles.

Put it back together and turned it to reserve for a smooth ride to the gas station.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What makes you feel it is not fuel?

First time out on my TW, I had the rascal in pieces before I noticed the odometer and did the math. Never had a full tank go empty in only 78 miles.

Put it back together and turned it to reserve for a smooth ride to the gas station.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
I've removed and inspected the plug... It won't spark when grounded to the block.

I also switched it to reserve and used starting fluid in the cylinder - Still won't start.

And there's fuel in the carb bowl.

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
It's my understanding that the stator is only responsible for charging and the pulser coil is responsible for spark.

·
Registered
1,521 Posts
Will not start in neutral with clutch pulled?
The CDI is effected by
clutch switch for starting
side stand switch when in gear

Also involved are