TW200 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to the TW world (and motorcycles in general), but I bought a 2018 TW200 about a month or two ago and decided to put a 45 sprocket on the back. I mainly ride on country roads so I thought that this would work better for me. While it is awesome between 1st and 4th ( I can get up to 55mph pretty easily in 4th), as soon as I switch over to 5th I really can't get anymore acceleration no matter how much throttle I give it. Do I need to be at higher rpms when I switch into 5th? The bike feels like it's too low to get any power.

I don't mind not having any more acceleration because I don't have a desire to go much faster than 55mph. However I was wondering if this is bad for the bike in any way?

Thanks for your help!

·
Super Moderator
5,140 Posts
Rev the tits off it before changing into 5th - just to the point where you are convinced it has become a competition between the engine exploding, or your teeth falling out

It does sound as though your 45 is holding the bike back a bit - Yamaha had it about right at 49/50

The 45 is a trade off - try the original configuration .......

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Too little horsepower. But it makes 1st through 4th more user friendly on the street - and 5th becomes like an overdrive; reducing vibration etc. making for a much smoother, more pleasurable ride.

·
Super Moderator
17,954 Posts
A 15 on the front works well or a 47 on the rear.

·
Registered
198 Posts
rev the tits off it before changing into 5th - just to the point where you are convinced it has become a competition between the engine exploding, or your teeth falling out

it does sound as though your 45 is holding the bike back a bit - yamaha had it about right at 49/50
the 45 is a trade off - try the original configuration .......
??????,”rev the tits off it “ , i love your words of wisdom there, more of it please

·
Registered
3,532 Posts