TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anybody replaced their tank with the new higher capacity acerbis or clark tanks? My stock tank is beyond salvage for my time and dollar. I like the idea of having a polyurethane tank instead of the stock metal ones(rust being the problem for everything in the northeast)
I have a 1987 TW200 All stock; no mods as of now but planning on having it be my main mode of transport when there isnt snow.
Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated as i am new to bikes
thanks all

·
Banned
4,030 Posts

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Has anybody replaced their tank with the new higher capacity acerbis or clark tanks? My stock tank is beyond salvage for my time and dollar. I like the idea of having a polyurethane tank instead of the stock metal ones(rust being the problem for everything in the northeast)
I have a 1987 TW200 All stock; no mods as of now but planning on having it be my main mode of transport when there isnt snow.
Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated as i am new to bikes
thanks all
If you do this could I have your old metal tank? I have a idea for removing the rust. Cheaply and easily, if it works would help a lot of people. I'd pay shipping.

·
Registered
1,598 Posts
Thank-you
I think the shipping from CA (right?), will be a lot more than Northeast. But I'd like to try to save one. Could you give me an Idea of the weight and your zip? I'll check on costs.
Maybe I'd share my idea and you'd like to test it out? I've used it on metal small engine tanks. They weren't as bad as yours. I've used it to clean rusty metal to prep for new paint.

That's a lot of rust, any apparent holes?

·
Registered
5,946 Posts
Thank-you
I think the shipping from CA (right?), will be a lot more than Northeast. But I'd like to try to save one. Could you give me an Idea of the weight and your zip? I'll check on costs.