TW200 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8,371 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning a vacation to the park and bringing my dog. She is Brittany and constantly on the hunt for mice, chipmunks and any other vermin that live in ground holes. We will be there the first week of March and I have some concern about snakes and scorpions with her stuffing her snout down every hole. I need to know if I need to be all that concerned in early March and what you all do with your dogs who do the same. She won't bother with a snake above ground but has never been around rattlers/scorpions that might be down a hole.

Would a bite in the snout from either kill the dog? Is there precautions I should take other than leashing her 24/7?

Thanks

GaryL

·
Registered
20,388 Posts
I'm no expert but the most rattlers I've ever encountered were on a hillock just NW of Big Bend park boundary. Now this was height of summer in 110 degree heat and I foolishly was seeking shade and shelter along a limestone shelf after a long hike. One buzz was followed by another and soon I seemed to be sharing the blocky outcrop with dozens of them. They would certainly have attracted a curious dog. Marfa might be the closest vet which might be too far.
The amount of venom injected varies quite a bit on snake age and mood at the time with the older snakes husbanding their venom supply a bit more in defensive situations. They need that to secure meals.
Big Bend scorpions I have no experience with.
If you take your dog I would try to keep her leashed or supervised as much as practical.

·
Super Moderator
18,064 Posts
Gonna depend on the temps if they are out and about, but yes, there are boatloads of snakes there, including rattlers for sure!!

·
Registered
545 Posts
Diamond back rattler VS dog, Well, You will be very sad,
I would not worry about scorpions as their sting is like a wasp and my dog has run into plenty of bee stings in the schnozzle but I would ask you vet about a sting remedy,