TW200 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a camping geek. Mon-Fri 8-5 I work as a programmer but on the weekends I'm usually camping and far away from technology. I'm looking for a good backpack that that I can use for both. Ideally I would want something that is highly visible especially at night and that can hold my gadgets, gear and helmet. Right now I'm thinking about the Icon Squad 2 Mil Spec Backpack http://www.revzilla.com/product/icon-squad-2-mil-spec-backpack. Has anyone used this backpack and have any advice?

Currently I have 6 normal backpacking bags (kinda have addiction to gear) but I would like something more suitable for riding. Normal trips are about 6 miles in town or 30 off road. Night trips would be almost daily. Everyday gear would be laptop, tablet, jacket, small sleeping bag, hammock and misc gear. I have been using a 40L osprey for 2 years and its worked great but does not hold a helmet and sucks for visibility at night.

·
Registered
122 Posts
I have not used this backback, but I would say you got it covered. This sucks does appears to do everything you need. In fact, it looks so cool I am now considering getting one...

·
Banned
10,664 Posts
Backpacks and riding offroad generally don't mix. You'll want your gadgets in something hard with padding when you take a spill such as Pelican cases. Anything much bigger than a day pack is likely to hang up on low branches, which is a ticket to injury. A hard frame extending over your shoulders is the worst. Just my observations of the experiences of others who broke their toys and their bodies. I've found the only way to to keep a backpack from interfering with the ride when the rider goes gymnastic is to cinch the straps uncomfortably tight. This I know from experience.