TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have really been enjoying my new smoker. I had a charcoal smoker that left in Hurricane Sandy. I recently bought an electric one from Masterbuilt. It is very easy to use and holds temperature very well. I have been finding recipes on youtube and other sites. The ribs and pork butts are awesome but I cannot get a handle on making a good brisket. I have followed two recipes to the letter and had two mediocre results. If one of you has the brisket secret, please post it! Thanks

·
Registered
182 Posts
Low and slow. I'm not a brisket expert, you need to cook them and keep cooking to break down the meat. Also doesn't hurt to wrap in foil after 6-8 hours to keep from drying out. I'm not familiar with your setup, but do have neighbors with electric smokers who love them. I cook on oak or pecan, between 225-250 degrees. I plan on doing some smoking this weekend also. I'll try to post some pics if I do. Would love to see some others chime in on this topic from around the world. :D

Reactions: Fred

·
Registered
182 Posts
Not smoking brisket yet, but got a good start. Cold beer, Elk burgers, sweet corn, Harley-Davidson green-chili sausage.......do what???? Wife bought them, they were surprisingly good. DSC02658.JPG DSC02660.JPG DSC02662.JPG DSC02663.JPG

·
Banned
10,664 Posts
Screw brisket, it's a cheap, dirty cut. Get a better quality cut.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Well, attempt #3 is in the smoker with the help of one very intelligent man. The ribs will go in in a few hours. Then the Striped Bass goes on the grill.

·
Super Moderator
18,142 Posts
Well, attempt #3 is in the smoker with the help of one very intelligent man. The ribs will go in in a few hours. Then the Striped Bass goes on the grill.
Yummy. ;)

·
Registered
614 Posts