TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There are few things in this life that I have coveted: my first car (a 1974 Karmann Ghia convertible--wish I still had it), my Martin guitar (0016ny--1976--still have), my 1988 Suzuki Samurai (wish I still had it), my 2003 Honda Rancher, Olive (still have) and a Yamaha tw200.

I'll be 62 one month from today; I'm a woman; I'm an artist; I built my own house here on the coast of Maine. I've lived in about fifty places from the midwest to Alaska to California.

My first "cycle" was a Honda CT70 which I got when I was in college (had a couple more since) and, in the mid-seventies, in Chicago, I had a Harley Davidson 250 on/off-road bike.

In high school, my sister's boyfriend and I rode the power-line trails and woods in Michigan--first on a Honda 160, later on a Honda 305 Scrambler. Sometimes he'd give me the key and a dollar for gas so that he could stay home and make-out with my sister, Pretty Looey, in the stairwell. Win-win.

I've been coveting a tw200 for years now, mentioned it to a friend who said, "Oh, I think that might be what I have in my garage," we checked, sure enough and next thing you know I was begging for first refusal rights if she were ever to sell it. She is! She will!

So, I'm soon to take delivery of a 2006 in near-showroom condition with only 2056 miles on it.

We have over 6000 miles of trails in Maine.

Be still, my heart.

·
Registered
7,369 Posts
That was easily the most succinct and eloquent first post ever writ.

That, and the fact that some of the bikes mentioned still bring a tear to me one good eye...

Welcome aboard.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
I'm surprised how much we have in common.My wife and I own 06 dubs. I'm 62, live in mich. and my wife and I will be coming out your way in july for a month or so to explore maine with the dubs............... Welcome aboard. OMM.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
What a nice thing to say, thank you.