TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening everyone! I'm a newbie from Burbank Ca, and I could use some help. I just bought a 1990 TW200 that was sitting for a while so I rebuilt the card, changed the oil, etc. It's in great shape but after rebuilding the Carburetor I am having some issues. So here is the skinny. I bought a carb rebuilt kit from Yamaha, as well as the diaphragm. I put the carb back on the bike, set the mixture screw 2.5 turns out (base setting I think) and started the bike with the choke on. No problem started right up but as soon as I take the choke off it dies. So long story short I have to have the mixture screw out about 5.5 turns for it to start up and idle without the choke. However once I give it gas it falls on it face. It wont die and if I feather it, it will rev up. So I spent about 2 hours trying every mixture setting and I can get it to close but there is always a flat spot and its running really lean. The plug is white.

Sorry if this is long but I wanted to explain it best I could. I have read a lot of the posts about adding shims and jets but for now all I am trying to do is get it back to stock.

BTW, its a CA bike so it has that can and stuff. IMG_5399.JPG

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Check for a vacuum leak

Reactions: littletommy

·
Super Moderator
18,142 Posts
Welcome to the forum!! :D