TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone made a chainsaw bracket to mount a chainsaw to their TW? Looking at whats available online I think I will fabricate my own. Thanks in advance for any tips. 馃檪

Registered
I work as a volunteer supervisor on the El Dorado National Forest, leading dirt bike crews to sweep the trails in the Rock Creek OHV area. After storms we go in to be sure the trails are open so riders do not make any trails around the downed trees or damaged sections of trails. We have found that the best way to carry a chainsaw on our bikes is with a ridged framed back pack. I can't find a photo of one just now, but I'll keep looking. It's not complicated though; a pack, chainsaw scabbard and a couple bungees. Frames are usually found in thrift stores for $15 or so, but even if a new frame is purchased, it is still well under $100 and a lot less than that one for mounting to the trail bike itself. It also allows for portage of extra fuel, bar oil, tools, etc. Some guys leave the pack on the frame and just drop the saw inside the pack and a bungee around the whole thing. Very quick.
Also, I've found that a 14" bar is the primary bar we use. Occasionally a large tree will fall, where a longer bar is needed, but if so, we break the saw down from the bar for easy transport. The frame looks like this;

Registered
Sorta looks like this, but with a shorter bar and a scabbard over the bar. Keeps the operator's hands free when the work is not possible to ride right up to.

saw.png

Here's another style;

Be sure you don't do chainsaw work alone in the woods and make room for a good first aide kit. I also have chainsaw chaps and encourage their use as well.

Registered