TW200 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am no mechanic, but pulled my carb for the first time and cleaned it. I replaced all the parts I could with the All Balls carb rebuild kit, cleaned the rest. The bike had sat for awhile and would not run well at low RPM - lost of surging. But now it is hard to start and will not idle at all. cranked for a long time with and without choke, but finally had to crack the throttle for it to start. It runs smooth enough with throttle, but dies instantly when I let off it.

What did I do wrong?

·
Super Moderator
17,991 Posts
You probably would have been better off using OEM parts.

·
Super Moderator
17,991 Posts
Scroll down to the bottom of the page and look for Similar Threads.

·
Registered
1,428 Posts
So I am no mechanic, but pulled my carb for the first time and cleaned it. I replaced all the parts I could with the All Balls carb rebuild kit, cleaned the rest. The bike had sat for awhile and would not run well at low RPM - lost of surging. But now it is hard to start and will not idle at all. cranked for a long time with and without choke, but finally had to crack the throttle for it to start. It runs smooth enough with throttle, but dies instantly when I let off it.

What did I do wrong?
What year is it? That will let us know which style, old slide, or new CV, the carb is.

What carb kit did you buy? Was it the right kit for your model year? Did the new jets match?

Did you get the new pilot circuit screw get the a new o-ring properly installed? Did the old one come out properly first? Sometimes they get stuck up there.