TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I've been riding for two years and have been interested in a TW about as long. I have a 2012 Vstrom 650 Adventure as my commuter, weekend rider, and eventually touring bike. The TW would be for trips to the Pine Barrens, pit bike for Mid-Ohio, some local riding, occasional commutes, and for my wife to learn on.

I'm 6'2" 195 Lbs 34" inseam, my wife is 5'6" 124 lbs with a 30" inseam.

My Pine Barrens trips and other off road adventures will be with two friends (smaller guys) riding a KLR 250 and a Bulltaco Alpina 250.

Of course I've heard, "the TW is too slow" , "get an XT250 instead", "it's too small for you", "bla,bla,bla"

I still keep thinking TW. Is there anything I should be concerned about?

I have a good price on either a new 2013 or 2014 from a local dealer.

·
Banned
10,664 Posts
A TW is too slow? Not really. TWs just don't spin so much, don't slide around so much, so they just don't look as fast as they are.

·
Registered
206 Posts
Go for it Dgrav you'll love it. I'm right up the road from you. There is a really nice one on cl right now in nj. 04 for 2100$ looks clean. Let me know when you hit the pine barrens I want to learn some spots over there.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Go for it!! I take my TW to the Pine Barrens pretty often and have never found it to be too slow in the woods. I do find it too slow for the highway getting there so I carry it there in my pickup. It is the perfect bike for the pines, deep sand, deep water and mud......perfect. I am 6' 200lbs. At 6'2" you will need bar risers or will be uncomfortable standing for too long. The interesting thing with the TW is that you can still be sitting on the seat in situations where you need to stand on a normal bike. Good luck, post pictures when you get it.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Done deal. I signed the paperwork today and a new 2014 TW should be in my hands by next weekend.