TW200 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13,915 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I am not a professional motorcycle rider, mechanic, or painter (or cleaner). And it shows!

Now if I would have washed the TW, the pictures would look better, so bear with the dirtyness. After all, it's gonna get dirty anyway!

Couple of months ago I decided to repaint the TW, thus in my wisdom, I needed to take it appart. Not the smartest thing I've done, nor worst, but once I got so far I had to finish. So, here is my handy work. Please try to smile at my mistakes, and know that I know, I made aplenty. But I got some good experience out of the deal!

Here's my TW before I started. Some would say "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". I agree! Shoulda paid my son to do it! ha ha.

Here's what it looked like nearing total teardown.

Here's what I want it to look like when I'm done. (Thanks to truelight for providing this color scheme mockup).

Paint done and starting to put it all back together.

Real close to being done here. Ran out of time and have to go to work. Will finish it tomorrow so I can ride it this weekend with the wife on our camp trip.

I did start it and it ran just like it did when I took it appart...and that's a good thing.

What went wrong and things I learned.

1) Problem: Clutch Lever. Somehow during the process, I jamed the clutch adjusting nut and locknut. Of course I didn't find this out until today. Went to the Yamie shop. Didn't have one in stock cost would be $28 for all the parts needed.

Solution: They sold me a YZ80 Clutch mount for $10. Lever fits (I took it with me). Only problem is, I will not be able to use the clutch safety switch as the YZ mount doesn't have a hole for the safety switch wiring. Consider it bypassed. After all I started it with the wiring hanging anyway!