TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
.... I took a spill in the snow and bent the shifter.. I decided to ride back down the mountain to repair with proper tools.. the bike was stuck in 1st so I figured id ride down with the bike off and the clutch disengaged... Ill admit im new to bikes, but what did I do wrong? I thought if the clutch was disengaged it wouldn't 'burn up'... was the motor supposed to be running? Anyway, heres a vid of me bending the shifter.. and the 1st one is me coming down the mountain and eventually destroying the clutch....

·
Registered
109 Posts
Yes the motor is supposed to be running...! You should have running the motor with the clutch disengaged.

Our bikes are wet clutch bikes..! Meaning the clutch eventhough disengaged needs a constant flow of oil to function. Oil will not low if engine is not running.
Sad story..! :(

·
Registered
3,363 Posts
looks like you were doing pretty well in slippery, tricky trail before that low speed dismount.

i've done that before and leaned into the bike from the opposite side to bend the shifter back with my foot, i've also used a branch to bend it clear. i wouldn't have known to keep the motor running to lubricate it either.

hope you're up and running again soon.

·
Registered
20,211 Posts
Too bad as you were doing so well conquering late season snow drifts. Handguards might be a good idea for your adventurous rides.

·
Registered
13,657 Posts
Huh? I've coasted downhill many times with the engine off, albeit in neutral and not in gear.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I coasted 8 miles in neutral down a mountain on Saturday without any problems. I'd like to know more about this coasting clutch phenomenon. Is it only a concern if the bike is in gear and the clutch lever is being held in?

·
Registered
425 Posts