TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Banned
4,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been doing the 4o1k for 31 years now and have seen it go up and down so no worries, I just up my contributions from 35% to 45% I am over 50 so I can do make up contributions buy low sale high and will go to 55% at the first of the year, at that point I can only put money in for seven month's then I will retire and move it to a tax free roth IRA and let it grow till I have to draw.

·
Banned
4,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
What I am trying to say is if you are young and have a good job and have a 4o1k just keep putting the money in as you can afford it and do not let the wife say no as mine did and my X is on #5 husband now and it Is not my problem.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
And if you can (make under 100,000 a year) go Roth IRA in your 401k. I wish I had when I was able. Taxes are a killer.

Also most ( some) utilities stocks pay mediocre dividends but they don't change and only increase. WEC, LNT, DTE..... All around 3.5% dividends regular as clock work and I just got anywhere from a 6.3% to 8% raise in dividends. Plus they are some of the safest stocks to hold. Not extreme performers but when you do retire they are pretty safe.

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
I just up my contributions from 35% to 45% I am over 50 so I can do make up contributions....
I did similar. I did 50% for about my last 8 years of working. Aside from putting away a lot of money, the high contribution forced us to live a more frugal lifestyle, much like we might need to when retired.

The problem I've got now, if you want to call it a problem, is getting out of the frugal mode now that we are pretty well set.

·
Banned
4,030 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
I did similar. I did 50% for about my last 8 years of working. Aside from putting away a lot of money, the high contribution forced us to live a more frugal lifestyle, much like we might need to when retired.