TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings - I have joined the ranks of TW owners. I live in Idaho, and just purchased a 2013 TW that has 315 miles on it - but I think they are tough miles - the engine case has a JB-Weld patch, but doesn't appear to leak any oil. I took it for a test drive, and it felt great (its my first time on a TW200). I hauled the bike home, and left it in my shop where it got down to roughly 5 below zero. I was happily surprised when I went out the next day and it started right up with a little choke. I drove it around for 5 or 10 minutes getting the feel for the bike - and parked it. Went back out the next day - bike turns over but won't start.. Put a charger on it, went out today - same thing - cannot get it to start. I know there are lots of threads about hard starting TW's so I guess I will start wading thru the threads to see if I can't find the sweet spot for starting the bike. I can already tell I am going to need a kick start kit on the bike - because I know it will see a lot of cold weather riding.

I did discover something strange - and hopefully somebody can help me out. On the left side of the handle bar (clutch side) - I found a black cable with two wires that have been tied together with electricians tape. It looks like these wires originally attached to the clutch lever - but have been taken off and shorted together. What is this cable?