·
Registered
5,831 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First I made a stick,

then I made a board,

and now I've made a starter.

IMG_1322.JPG

I wore out my native right knee from years of kicking over old dirt bikes (and playing soccer, and running marathons!) and had it replaced a couple of years ago. Since then I have passed up some good craigslist deals because they were kick only bikes and so I wanted to see if I could come up with some kind of a non leg-powered motorcycle starter. I went online to get some ideas of what others had built for starting motorcycles. I kept some of the good ideas, threw out most of the rest and here is what I built.

IMG_1331.JPG

Over the past several months, I have picked up a (real) gas MIG welder, a chop saw, a small mill, some steel and began the development and fabrication process. I wanted something as mechanically and electrically simple as possible, portable, and easy to store. Also, since I am just a beginner garage machinist and welder, the design needed to be something that I could hack out and stick together mostly by myself. Here are some the basic components and fabrication steps that I started with.

View attachment 188348

I then bought a heavy duty starter for a big block Chevy motor and began sourcing the drive sprockets and chain.

View attachment 188350

Some more fab work and a mock-up of the assembly.

IMG_0988.JPG

After welding (and a lot of welding cleanup!).

IMG_1239.JPG

Time for initial assembly and functional testing.

IMG_1244.JPG

Everything is working, so time to take it apart again, paint and then re-assemble it again. Here is the finshed product, ready to use.

IMG_1343.JPG