TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was very surprised and disappointed to discover that my new TW does not have drain plugs for the front forks. I have been changing fork oil since I had my 1968 CL 175 Honda! it was rumored back then that the Japanese used fish oil in the forks and replacing it with transmission fluid helped handling. I don't know but that oil sure did stink!

Has anyone drilled and tapped their own drain plugs for the forks?

·
Registered
20,479 Posts
Does Yamaha proudly call this Anti-Progress or Reverse Evolution? Part of the "Tit for Tat" program?...you want a disc brake, gonna cost you a kickstarter. "Hey, since we gave you a CV carb so no more fork drain screws". What did you expect for a fourteen dollar a pound motorcycle?:rolleyes:

·
Registered
13,795 Posts
I've never heard of anyone here on the forum taping a hole for the drain plug hole. The good news is you can still change your fork oil as you've done in the past. :) Bad news is your gonna have to remove the fork tubes to do it. :(

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've never heard of anyone here on the forum taping a hole for the drain plug hole. :(
I'm surprised - compared to some of the stuff you guys do it seems like a pretty simple mod. I only have 32 miles on mine(damn Pa weather) so I won't be changing too much on my bike at least until the factory warranty is up.

·
Registered
6,067 Posts
I seem to remember Lizrdbrth discussing this. I also thought that for a year or so after Yamaha removed the drains (2001), the lower fork legs still had the nubs on the castings which would make tapping drain holes easier. They were probably just using up their old inventory. I know that by 2005, the nubs were gone.

·
Registered
1,495 Posts
"Anti-Progress or Reverse Evolution"