TW200 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20,375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Local fellow I bought my trailer from just had one of his storage buildings burn down loosing his tractor, a matching set of his and hers ATVs, a couple snowblowers, etc.
I asked him if he had any BatteryTenders operating. Indeed he had two charging both the tractor and one ATV, both with wet cell batteries. He indicated that his son, a motorcycle mechanic by trade, said that several fires have been attributed to BatteryTenders or other charging devices left on for too long.
With all the diesel and gasoline involved the fire's heat was sufficient to melt aluminum. As such the fire investigators said they doubted enough evidence existed to indicate a probable cause.
However a word to the wise is to perhaps not trust many devices to be left drawing current unattended for extended periods of time.

·
Registered
363 Posts
I've always been a little leery of these devices so I make a 2.25 hr trip to NH in the wintertime to charge up the batteries. Yeah, I know it can be done with a smart phone, but I don't have one and can't get my wife to get one and learn how to use it.

Reactions: jtomelliott49

·
Registered
715 Posts
Battery tenders are good, but not needed 100% of the time in the off season.

In the off season (dead of winter), I remove the batteries from the summer toys and bring them inside to utility room. Then charge them once a month with a tender, good to go. No need for a tender to be plugged in for 5 months!

To each their own though - lots of opinions on battery storage. (like engine oil) :)

Good Luck!

·
Registered
20,375 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)