TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a relative novice with motorcycles (about 30,000 miles so far) and I find forums very helpful for learning things from other people's knowledge base/ long years of experience. However, this morning while listening to the archives of the podcast "Adventure Rider Radio" the guest on the show, Warren Milner, a retired engineer with Honda motorcycles, makes some very good points about putting too much credence into things people post in forums (in this case, related to modifying our motorcycles). I guess that should go without saying and just be common sense but sometimes we can accept things as "fact" because the person posting seems like a very smart guy (or gal) and spends a lot of time posting things online. I found the episode interesting and I think you will too. Below is a link:

https://adventureriderradio.com/adventure-rider-radio-episodes/2017/7/20/has-the-internet-made-you-cluelessly-modify-your-motorcycle-for-the-worst-rider-skills-with-bret-tkacs

·
Registered
230 Posts
I don't open anything on the internet so I didn't listen to the podcast if that is what it was.....but my background is in Engineering and I have never modified any vehicle I have bought...car....bike....boat....whatever.... and I only use the parts and lubricants and fuels specified in the owners manual under the assumption that the Engineers that designed the vehicle have the knowledge, skill and motivation to build a durable and dependable product....

Yes, I understand that they have cost constraints but....I trust them and it has worked out fine ...

·
Registered
334 Posts
No! It's just way too much fun to try to change things into something you think is better. Right or wrong it's just too boring to keep things and to use them exactly as they were designed. I think a lot of people get as much enjoyment from working on and trying to improve their motorcycle as they do from riding it.

·