TW200 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys ,

I as trying to get informations about recommendations and past experience on GPS and mount. I didn't get much lucky , if i use the search feature of the forum for "GPS" it's too short and i don't get result.

So here questions , what would be a good GPS for the tw200 with a good mount.I love the ram but i was not able to make a decision on the GPS. Here the options i see :
- Getting a cheap garmin and a mount.
- Using my Iphone and a mount.
- Using a "trail" gps with road capabilities ( i have no experience with this type of gps and i don't know if it's usable in a city ).

I need the gps for my commute rides and avoid highway.
Let me know if you have any recommendations , past experience , pictures are welcome ! Details on the outdoor gps are very welcome !

THanks for the help!

·
Registered
104 Posts
I am prepping to update my GPS too. My plan is to use an ipad mini in a FRE case on a RAM mount. I retired a garmin 530. The garmin 650 didn't make the grade.
I'm a big fan of ram mounts on atvs,motorcycles and in vehicles.
Ipad has a 10hr battery life and the cases should address ruggedness.

·
Registered
308 Posts
I have both a Gamin 60csx and 205W on my Tdub. I like the differences that they provide. Muley12-2011-3.JPG Muley12-2011-1.JPG

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
On my TW I have RAM mounts for both a Garmin nuvi (285W) and my Garmin 60CSX. I bought the nuvi for use in the truck and the Garmin 60csx for hiking and geocaching. Both are sometimes used on the TW just because I am too cheap to buy a bike-specific GPS. If I was going to buy a GPS to use only on the bike I would not buy either of the above units.