TW200 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a handheld ham radio, and I even passed the test for a technician license.
But that really doesn't teach you how to use it, if anyone has any suggestions on a good book, or something to help I'd appreciate it.
There is a club over in Grand Junction but that's a long drive. I was hoping someone who is coming to town next spring might give me a few tips.
I did check on youtube but didn't find much there.
O.K. thanks

·
Registered
77 Posts
I am also a licensed ham or amateur radio operator. Welcome to the hobby. It can be as much as you put into it just like TW200s or any other hobby. Since you are licensed, I would suggest joining a local club and get involved even if long term it’s not your thing. Yes they will probably suggest getting a better radio especially if your first purchase was a $30 Baofeng. Let me know what radio you did purchase. If you need help with programming the radio, finding repeaters or clubs in your area or other questions feel free to ask me or PM. Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the links Top Predator and nihil, I hadn't seen those before. I pm'd FishByte and hopefully he will share some of his expertise with me.

·
Registered
7 Posts