TW200 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since the TW200 has a 55/60watt H4 headlight bulb has anyone tried changing it out to a 55/100watt bulb like a Hella H4 ? Should provide a more light output on high beam, but can the wiring handle a 100 watt bulb?

·
Registered
184 Posts
Since the TW200 has a 55/60watt H4 headlight bulb has anyone tried changing it out to a 55/100watt bulb like a Hella H4 ? Should provide a more light output on high beam, but can the wiring handle a 100 watt bulb?
I have been using this for three years now. Not sure how the fan will do with mud I ride mostly street https://www.cyclegear.com/parts/speedmetal-led-conversion-kit?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIgMuMv5Ow2gIVUzuBCh1BtgQhEAQYASABEgLl0fD_BwE

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
474 Posts

·
Registered
358 Posts
100W at 12V is around 8.3A. I like around a 30% margin for safety and variance of the element making the draw, so let's call it 10.8A. For continuous power transmission (ie: headlight type draw), you need an 11AWG conductor for 12A, 12AWG for 9.3A.

I don't know what wire gauge is used on the headlight harness for the TW, but I'm pretty sure it's closer to 17AWG'ish giving you a whopping 2.9A or 34.8W worth of capability.

If you plan on running higher current lighting like that, you should run an appropriate gauge wire through a fused link straight from the battery, and use the stock 12V feeds to main/high beam to toggle relays that switch the line from the battery. That will give you OEM functionality without melting your wiring and leaving you in the dark or pulled over by the local constabulary.