TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, I am completely new to hand guns. Greener than green.

I am looking for a revolver that is compact, concealable, light weight, semi weatherproof (sweatproof) and fun to shot.

Figured I go with a revolver as opposed to an auto for simplicity if that makes any since.

I am not looking for something that will take down a bear or a mountain lion just something that will change the dispostion of the weirdos I seem to be running in to lately with great regularity when out in the middle of nowhere.

It's been suggested to me that the S&W model 60 would be a good choice.

FYI: I will be taking a firearm safety/instruction class.

Comments, advice, suggestions please.

Please remember that I am greener than green and anyone posting over my head will be wasting your time.

Thanks

·
Registered
108 Posts
I own a Smith and Wesson 38. I have other handguns both semi auto and revolvers. I like the 38 for it's reliability and ease of use. I like the 642 because of it's concealed hammer and ability to shoot through a coat pocket without jamming. It's light and holds 5 158 grain rounds.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Taking some classes to the best idea and some gun ranges will let you fire the guns before you buy one.

·
Registered
7,369 Posts
Taking some classes to the best idea and some gun ranges will let you fire the guns before you buy one.

Zackly. Put your hands around as many different weapons as you can before buying. Lots of indoor ranges have a pretty good selection. Handguns are a sizeable investment these days.

My philosophy is that a .22 that you can actually hit things with beats the heck out of a .44mag that you can't.

·
Registered
110 Posts