TW200 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm a noob when it comes to Yamaha's, TW's and motorcycle repair in general. I just purchased an '87 TW and I am in the process of putting it back together. I needed to buy a new tank and currently have the carb soaking. I am beginning to realize that I will die by nickel and dime items. For instance I don't have bolts for the new fuel cock soon to be purchased (online sales don't show bolts), I need to replace the fuel line and I don't have front mounting bolts for the gas tank. Does anyone have simple A-ha solutions to these simple and necessary fixes? Your wisdom and any expertise offered is greatly appreciated.
Sincerely,
Palmaenut

·
Registered
6,175 Posts
Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new/old bike!

A trip to your local hardware store should yield most replacement hardware that you will need and also a short length of fuel line. The front of the stock tank rests on round rubber pucks that could probably be fabricated with a hole saw and a hockey puck

·
Super Moderator
18,171 Posts
Welcome!! :D

·
Registered
1,873 Posts
What TWBrian said. And welcome to the nuthouse. You'll love your '87 TW. You'll also love this forum. Hope you get 'er going soon. Where are you located?

·
Registered
1,873 Posts