TW200 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just got my '06 back from the shop for a carb rebuild. It runs good but when I stop in neutral it revs really high, pops a wheelie when I hit first.

The engine seems pretty hot but I'm a total noob, how long does it normally need to sit before it cools enough to touch?

Could the high idle and overheating engine be related? If I sit in neutral for a minute or two it slows down. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,431 Posts
I think I'd take it back to the shop and tell them to fix it right. It's likely a kinked or pinched throttle cable.

·
Super Moderator
18,142 Posts
Sounds like it could be running too lean. Try adjusting the air/fuel mixture screw out some. The dealer may have set it to factory settings which tend to be lean.

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Just got my '06 back from the shop for a carb rebuild. It runs good but when I stop in neutral it revs really high, pops a wheelie when I hit first.

The engine seems pretty hot but I'm a total noob, how long does it normally need to sit before it cools enough to touch?

Could the high idle and overheating engine be related? If I sit in neutral for a minute or two it slows down. Thanks.
I hesitate to comment since I couldn't help you last time...but here goes...

You have an air cooled engine. A high idle when the bike is not moving will cause it to overheat.

Have you checked the throttle stop screw?

If the idle is OK when you first start the bike, but doesn't return to normal idle when you slow down to a stop, the carb is set either too lean or too rich...... Yes I know... doesn't make sense.

Both conditions can cause the problem.

Pull out the choke part way while the engine is high idling. If the engine returns to normal idle, the carb is too lean.

If the engine starts to run rough or stumble when you pull out the choke, it is too rich

.... Or it could be something else completely.