·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have appointments to check out two bikes;

http://ventura.craigslist.org/mcy/2881162974.html

and

http://losangeles.craigslist.org/wst/mcy/2922043303.html

Both private parties. First listing, the seller is reputable (google searches, back and forth, etc) and upfront with treatment of the bike;

He said it's been sitting for about a year and a half with no gas in it. also says after starting and running every so often, the battery doesn't seem that good.

Now I am giddy to get a bike, so I am hoping it's in good shape as I'll be driving close to two hours to see it.

What would a new battary entail? Are bike batteries like car batteries, universal and available everywhere?

I am going to bring $2200 in cash with me, but going to offer $1900 and go from there.

Any other advice would be great, as I am a noob

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, he holds the title, but registration is expired. I assume I would just need to register it under my name?

·
Registered
326 Posts
Batteries are easy. You can get them at most places and their anywhere from $30-$60 in auto stores, and as much as you want to spend online and at dealerships.

He just signs the title over to you and then you get insurance and get it registered in your name and a new title issued to you in your name.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the fast replies. As for the speedo...are the parts to fix that obtainable?

Due to the seller communication and just a better feel, as long as the 2002 runs OK (bringing roomate and friend who are experienced riders)...I am going to make an offer

·
Registered
1,307 Posts