TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Everything I know about upholstery work was gleaned from youtube or bugging friends for tips. I'm not a pro, but I know my way around a sewing machine. I decided I'd like a black and gray seat for my TW because I don't like the blue one. I guess I prefer a boring looking bike.. I may experiment with this seat for comfort reasons as well. New foam inserts or additional padding on top.

I ebayed a whole 1987 seat because I wanted to make my own seat cover. The seat I have is nice enough I didn't want to mess with it.

I carefully removed the staples from the pan to remove the cover.

Apart, the pan and foam are in great shape.

Time to cut it up (carefully) for pattern making purposes

Patterns being used

New marine vinyl pieces are cut out

I bought a Consew walking foot sewing machine off of an AM radio call-in classifieds show last fall. I'm glad I'm finally using it to make useful things. I double stitched the seams for durability and a good look.

The final step after this is going to be finding a shallow set of staples and carefully applying my new cover to the seat. I'm going to make a new grab strap as well.

·
Registered
3,350 Posts
great looking! did you make it a bit bigger for added cushioning?

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Tonight I got out the steamer to soften the vinyl and gave it the stretch and staple treatment. I was using 1/4" staples in an Aarow T50 staple gun. It was barely powerful to penetrate the seat pan. I assume since it's a 1987 seat that the plastic has hardened a bit. Anyway, I'm happy with the results. Here's some decent photos I took before the sun set.

I wrapped a nylon strap in vinyl for the grab strap. Then I used metal grommets to ensure they are durable at the fix points under the seat.

Old versus new

Detail of the double reinforced seams. I did this throughout just because I thought it looked nice.