TW200 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so I started riding my tw to work in any conditions, the roads i use are very well plowed & traveled and I've only got 4 miles so I haven't had problems. I can handle plain wet roads.

yesterday went for a ride at about 2pm, been snowing moderately all day. went off the beaten path & tried to cut through a park (a road going through the park). the road had that packed white snow, you know it's not ice but it's slippery & my tires weren't biting into it at all, I was just sitting on top of it. took a very very very very gentle turn & boom front tire went right out & I kind of jumped off the bike. it happened very fast. not sure what i could have done except maybe sit waaaay up front over the front tire & give it some gas & hope for the best but i was too slow for all of that. all is well, I was only going about 20 and no one was behind me. hip is a little sore & i learned that in snowy conditions im sticking to my well traveled & plowed roads!

·
Registered
2,667 Posts
ouch...glad you're ok...def better off with studded tires or chains on that stuff or just on softer trails...done plenty of mountain biking in the snow so i know how it feels to fall...my TW sits in the garage in the winter...if there were places to trail ride around here that may be a different story

·
Registered
13,716 Posts
the road had that packed white snow, you know it's not ice but it's slippery & my tires weren't biting into it at all

That packed snow is exactly why I tried and now use the chains on the rear. I also use short sheet metal screws on the (Shinko SR244) front tire (idea from mrgizmow). Of course I don't ride my TW on paved roads and limit my riding to tamer logging roads and trainls in the winter, but you're right, that packed snow is a doozy!

·
Registered
1,305 Posts