TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I bought a used TW with all the right racks for pretty much the sole purpose of using it for elk hunting and some camp maintenance. I did a shake-down run this weekend and there's some pluses and minuses with enough on the negative that I want to make sure I made the right choice for the bike. I have some bike riding experience but very little on a trail, 55 YO, about 6' 5", 220 lb. The goal of the shakedown was to make sure the bike would work okay and also to cut some firewood so we don't have to do that while hunting. The ride consisted of about 7 miles of hardpack road (took the bike of the HF rear carriers so it wouldn't drag) and then about 1.5 miles of trail and back out. The road has a fair amount of rocks anywhere from golf to soft ball size (that can be loose on the road) and the trail has some areas that are not only steep but literally like a dry stream-bed but the rocks are rough and kind fairly loose. A fair amount is hard dirt and there's also some just hard rock (not loose). At times, there's a drop off on one side and about a 1-2 foot high wall on the other side). There's one steep and twisty climb that is fairly hard dirt but also kind of deep ruts. In short, it's got about everything!

So here's the pluses:
I didn't kill or injure myself.
Mission accomplished, got the wood cut and camp site taken care of.
The bike did fine (other than maybe not being the best for this type of trail).
My 13/65 gearing performed well but could maybe still be a bit lower.
Gear racks and cargo carrying capability are fine.

And the minuses:
I am sore! Well not really bad but I used muscles I never knew I had. The worst part is the lower legs above the ankles, almost like shin splints. This would suck if I had to endure this on the first day of hunting.