TW200 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I sold my 74 FJ40 last week and just bought a 98 TW200 with 2400 miles yesterday and am about to start on the process of getting it up and running. Got a new battery and got the bike to run rough with the choke out for about 10 seconds. Planning on rebuilding or cleaning the carb and need some advice on a carb rebuild kit and any other advice for a new owner bringing back an older bike. I am new to working on motorcycles so any helpful tips would be greatly appreciated.

Questions
-what carb kit?
-what other maintenance should I take care of?
- What gremlins should I look out for?

Here is the bike....

image.jpeg

·
Registered
261 Posts
No advice, but welcome to the board! You've selected a tough critter - it should come back just fine! I like the color too lol.

·
Registered
287 Posts
Sold a four wheeled Land Cruiser and bought a two wheeled one. Nice! If ever there was a motorbike that could be considered equivalent, the TW is it. Slow, bulletproof, unstoppable and dead reliable. Well done!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the advice guys. I got the carb off and am waiting for a rebuild kit to come in. I ordered from procycle. I also found a pretty major oil leak coming from a bolt on the left side of the case. I also noticed gasket maker on every bolt head on the case so I think I may be ordering a gasket for that as well. Pics of terrible oil leak fix to follow.

·
Registered
602 Posts
Running rough with the choke out for 10 seconds? What happened after that? Some of these require a long warm up period depending on altitude and jetting. Depending on your answer to the question it just might be ok with the suggested Seafoam treatment.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #9