TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - just got a t-dub. I live in Spokane and am trying to learn to ride, mostly in north Idaho. Lots of long, steep, rocky, rutted, and gravelly uphill sections in the St. Joe and CDA National Forests.

I'm a total newb (35, good shape, 6' 0", 190 lbs) but have no idea how to deal with these hills. Basically, I'll get slowed down going up a long, steep uphill and if I stop, I can't get going again. The rear tire will just spin.

I ordered a 65 tooth rear sprocket (only need a plate for trails in WA, no "street") and I'm hoping I'll be able to crawl up these hills a little easier. But that still doesn't seem to solve the problem of rear tire spin?

The sprocket and maybe lowering tire pressures will probably help, but fundamentally ... is it possible to get going again on a dirt bike once you stop going up a steep hill? Or do you just have to turn around and try again?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Hi all - just got a t-dub. I live in Spokane and am trying to learn to ride, mostly in north Idaho. Lots of long, steep, rocky, rutted, and gravelly uphill sections in the St. Joe and CDA National Forests.

I'm a total newb (35, good shape, 6' 0", 190 lbs) but have no idea how to deal with these hills. Basically, I'll get slowed down going up a long, steep uphill and if I stop, I can't get going again. The rear tire will just spin.

I ordered a 65 tooth rear sprocket (only need a plate for trails in WA, no "street") and I'm hoping I'll be able to crawl up these hills a little easier. But that still doesn't seem to solve the problem of rear tire spin?

The sprocket and maybe lowering tire pressures will probably help, but fundamentally ... is it possible to get going again on a dirt bike once you stop going up a steep hill? Or do you just have to turn around and try again?

Hi 82much,