TW200 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello! I hoping someone can help me.

I have purchased and received the "red spring" from Procycle (as well as stiffer fronts) and I am going to make a DIY spring compressor from steel. My metal buddy is going to make me the piece that holds back the spring around the retaining clip. He wants to know the exact size he should drill the hole. I'm hoping to find out the diameter of the retainer so I don't have to remove everything to measure it myself. I ride it everyday!

I searched for a replacement part hoping to find the specs on it but haven't found anything at all. If anyone happens to know the size or if you've made one yourself I'd appreciate it. Thanks very much.

EDIT- I am a woodworker and could easy make my own part from some crazy strong wood, or 1-1/2" plywood or similar. I don't have much experience with this sort of thing and I like to err on the side of safety but I have a hard time believing my own fine wooden-crafted, low tolerance, unit wouldn't suffice. Any thoughts on that?

·
Registered
6,060 Posts
Hi Jiggy,

I am not clear on exactly what diameter that you are looking for. Take a look at the pictures below and see if you could maybe indicate exactly what diameter it is that you want measured?

Thanks,

Brian

100_4733.JPG

100_4993.JPG

IMG_3294.JPG

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am not clear on exactly what diameter that you are looking for.......

Brian,

Thanks for the help. And trust me I came across your solution in my searches and it's really cool. As I said I am a woodworker and that is my go to bailout when I need something custom. I've long been envious of the metal guys. Unless I am misunderstanding something, I am looking for the diameter hole I need to slip the top end of the shock assembly through- small enough to catch the spring and large enough to clear the spring retainer.

Here's the pic top down from Procycle.