TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mac air problem. Since about the middle of today a one and a half inch ribbon that looks like metallic threads creating a translucent band running vertically down the near center of my screen. Do any of you know what causes this? It sometimes causes a metallic color on pictures. It makes reading text difficult. Is my machine wearing out?
Is it fixable? WTF?

·
Registered
141 Posts
Take it into the Apple Store if possible, not a general computer service center. There's a good chance they will fix or replace it for free.

·
Registered
515 Posts
Display is going... Not sure what the $ would be to fix/replace but it will not be cheap.

I would do what cpit recommended. If you have no extended warranty or not. Probably cost +400.

I have a MBair also, about 3 years now. A very nice laptop but expensive.

Example of cost:

MacBook Air Screen Replacement

Jim

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I took it to the Apple store and their wizard worked on it for three days. 62.50 was the bill and it is almost fixed. They said another 400 might take care of the problem.
My next computer will not be Apple.
I have had three mac laptops now and Apple is no longer in my future.
Apple puts intrusive malware into their up grades and puts time triggered fails into their product so that you need to buy another one.
When Steve Jobs died the company went to hell as far as ethics goes.

·
Registered
2,493 Posts
?....

Apple puts intrusive malware into their up grades and puts time triggered fails into their product so that you need to buy another one.
I'm curious what the malware is, and the time-triggered fails are.

Is it anything more than the "reporting" back to Apple of your online activity and location?

Microsoft, Google, and Amazon all do the same thing.

jb

·
Registered
6,451 Posts