TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don’t want it loud, and I know there is no performance gain to be had, I’d just like it to be a tiny bit louder so I feel less like I’m riding a scooter. My 87 has a kinda beat up muffler at the end, and it is considerably noisier than my 95, but I like it. It’s not loud,
Just enough to know it’s doing something. My 95 is QUIET. I’d rather hear a little exhaust over my chain going over the slider, you know. Surely someone here has a similar feeling and has played with their muffler some. Any tips? I’m a competent welder so if I put a hole where I shouldn’t have, I can patch it back up.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,077 Posts
If you do not need a proper forest service approved spark arrester, you can remove, cut off the cone in the inside section and reinstall.
Try it first without the arrester, at all, to get a sense of the decibel difference and tone.
I do not think I posted photos of doing that on the TW nor the XT250.
Save the cut-off section, as it can be welded or brazed back on, if you do not like it.

An impact on the Phillips screw holding on the arrester is recommended...even new.
That and a vise plus hacksaw are the only tools needed.

I do not like loud (obnoxious), but do prefer audible.

As much as I enjoy experimenting, I also like to be able to revert to stock.
The attached photo is of my CB1100.
I drilled the 3 holes (1/2").
Liked the sound accelerating.
Very much liked the rumble decelerating.
But did not like the sound at idle...sort of a fluttering.
So, I made blocking plates, drilled and tapped (10/32") a pair of mounting holes for each 1/2" hole and blocked my experiment.
They are covered by a stainless steel cone.

The air box mod on the CB1100 worked very well, but I saved the section I sliced off, should I want to reapply with crazy glue.

Exhaust mods-half inch holes.jpg
Snorkel cut.JPG
Snorkel mounted.JPG

·
Registered
1,077 Posts