TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Thought I'd introduce myself. Grown up around bikes with my Dad and my first bike I rode was a Yamaha TY80 and then worked up to a TY125 and a TY175. Now I've had 5 years driving experience I thought it's time that I'd get a motorbike and found out about the TW's so went out and bought one!

Spoiler alert - it's not a TW200. It's a baby TW125 but once I pass my UK test I'd like to get a TW200 or a TW225 (IF I can find one!!)

Photo of when I got it home, little tatty in places. Few areas of surface rust but otherwise all solid and legal. roughly 15,000 mileage and passed it's MOT with 0 advisories and got a good price for it all too! So very happy for my first bike. Just needs a little TLC which I have done!

Rear swing arm is a bit rusty, you can see a few tiny areas of the frame where the paint has come off a little but nothing major. Engine is a little flakey so will sort that also.

Tank is in pretty good condition apart from the other side there is a bit of a dent but could push out with a bit of effort. I'm looking at getting a purple tank anyway or a blue one at some point so will leave that. for now.

First job was to give it a good service. Bought new NGK spark plug, hi-flow filters (air and oil) new sump O ring and sump plug (i broke the old one sorry haha, if it broke it needed replacing anyway!!)

Spark plug was a bit manky but otherwise not too bad.

New and old filters

Old oil was a bit black and crappy so was a good job i decided to do a service! Replaced with Silkoline oil

Was a little disheartening seeing a few metal bits in the engine oil filter but at least the old filter caught them.