TW200 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day to all. I am a noob at this. And im planning on making my tw200 into hobby bike (modify and such) . I have very basic bike engineering knowledge and i am facing a situation. I want to have a dual front disk on my 1992 tw200. And am seeing my only option available as a 120/70-17 wheel from a donar bike (nk400) . This is my problem: i want to keep the tyre from the tw200 (130/80-18) but i want to have the dual disc brakes from the donar . I dont have the tyres yet and , ill have to order and purchase the dual disc front rim even before i can check if it will fit my idea (its a custom fat-boy-scrambler-street fighter , thats pretty much the idea AKA "Frankenstein jr"). I did some research but couldn't make heads from tails.
If any one has any idea on if it will fit, or anything else as option that would be a great help.
This has been my life long wish to have a custom 1992(the year i was born) tw200(favorite bike of all time ) built by myself, that i get to ride everyday. I

I thank you for the favor/time you put on this .

- a noob who loves tw 200

·
Registered
20,495 Posts
If it weren't for the cast wheel of the NK400 I'ld question why the need for retaining the TW Death Wing tyre & 18" spoked rim.
I see all sorts of challenges, some perhaps insurmountable within a reasonable budget.
Keeping the TW hub for spoke lacing, speedo pick-up, width between the forks, etc conflicts with a strong mount to transfer brake load from right disc to hub. I fear a custom hub would have to be rather well thought out, designed & fabricated possibly with custom spoke lengths to accomodate a beefier hub and right side disc. Packaging it all within the TW's forks might be unfeasible.