TW200 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1998 Xt225 , My wife backed into its frame while apart for powdercoating.
Now its smooshed.

What years and other models can I use to bolt on ALL my MAIN XT225 stuff.

I dont care if Its a tw200 frame and of course would like to replace my frame with the newest model year I can.
So If i see a 2004 ttr230 frame Will my XT225 motor/swingarm/wheels/chain, all bolt into the frame? Cuz I can figure out bracketing for plastics , i can re-wrap my harness If, I must, But don't have a welder or much money, I'm disabled, its my winter project.

Can you folks with experience let me know, do I have to find to a model year 2000 and below for bolt in and drive away goal?
Can I get a 2005 frame? etc

thank you al in advance for any advice i can get. < I'm a former Ase Tech But Auto, not Motorcycle.

S

·
Registered
487 Posts
Not sure if this will help, but I would try and cross reference the part # to your frame to identify which year frames are a direct swap. Although using a frame from a similar bike may work, I'm pretty sure that you would have to fab up some modifications to make it work. Some driving lessons for your wife may also be helpful. Good luck, Dave

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
LOL Thanks Dave, But where can I cross ref?

Not sure if this will help, but I would try and cross reference the part # to your frame to identify which year frames are a direct swap. Although using a frame from a similar bike may work, I'm pretty sure that you would have to fab up some modifications to make it work. Some driving lessons for your wife may also be helpful. Good luck, Dave

Thanks Dave, And yeah she does haha.

How can I cross-reference w/o manuals?
Will a dealer do that for me?
I wonder if I called a dealer, #1 would anyone want to spend the time who is a yamaha parts guy?
and what if I get some 18year old kid on the line that makes a guess for me.