TW200 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, all,

New member here with what is probably a question that has been answered before - but I'm afraid I can't find what I'm looking for. I'm new to motorcycling (well returning in my mid-40s after dirt biking as a teen) and just bought a 2009 with only 80 miles on it! Love the thing and having a blast. Anyway, it came with a rear top rack and I bought a Pelican 1400 to mount onto to it. Before I start drilling holes in the rather expensive case, I wanted to check in and see how best to do this. Do I need an additional plate on the rack? I was playing with some brackets (they may be hose clamps with a hole for nut/bolt) but it didn't feel right, even though it may have worked.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers.

bikerack.JPG

·
Registered
3,109 Posts
I'm not sure if there is another way to mount it. Any bag or case that attaches to a rack has to have something protruding from it whether it be clamps or straps.

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Welcome fellow Oregonian!

I have mounted quite a few different cases to my TWs on several different racks.

I either use J-bolts coming out of holes drilled in the bottom of the case and then wrapping around the tubes in the rack, or straight bolts coming out of holes in the case and then going into a metal plate or piece of high density polyethylene that goes below the rack to act as the bottom side of a clamp.

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on the new bike!

·
Banned
4,029 Posts
moose-hard-trunk.jpg I would go this route. Moose Hard Case Trunk is perfect for the daily commuter. The small case is large enough for a single full-face helmet and additional gear while the large case will actually swallow two full-face helmets and some gear.

The small case is 1700 cubic inches (28 liters), 15"L x 15"W x 10"H overall outside dimensions.