TW200 Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question for all you TW guys. Im new to this platform. Ive been told more than once that the carb needs to be re jetted because they are way too lean from the factory.

Opinions please.

Tom Bentzen

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Unless you ride at higher elevations, many of us have improved the lean condition by adjusting the air/fuel mixture screw. Lots of good threads on here explaining the process and discussing which jets have worked for folks at various elevations.

·
Registered
19,401 Posts
As the Badger stated a lean condition can be improved via simply adjusting what is referred to here as the air/fuel mixture screw. That has been my solution.
I have almost 20,000 miles on my TWs and never felt any need to re-jet. It is not a necessity although some have reported favorable results with different jets and/or shims under the needle. Consider it elective, not mandatory...unless you happen to have a Rover operating on another planet.

Farewell Opportunity Rover! Maybe some day we will come track you down & dust off your solar panels and send you on your way again. rover2.jpeg

·
Registered
2,539 Posts
it sounds to me that very few need to change anything other than the mixture screw. i bought a new 2014 and it was a dog, hard to start, wouldn't run without the choke until noon, had low power. i purchased the Procycle jet kit and put in the bare miminum they suggested and i got a whole new engine out of it. in the summer there was no chock needed and there was a big increase in power. i was very surprised with the whole thing, they must have really screwed up that carb when they built it

·
Registered
227 Posts
They have jets ???? It is very common for me to ride from 600" about sea level to 6000" above sea level on the same day.... I suspect that is true for anyone who rides in the mountain west …. never noticed a problem...

·
Registered
303 Posts