TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While working out of town through the quarantine (essential work on a grocery store’s refrigeration system), Idaho released the lock down. So it only seemed logical to get a tw. Went into Snake River Yamaha in Meridian, Idaho, to inquire about one. 30 minutes later, I was riding it off the lot. I have never had a faster titled purchase in my life. Only issue is I am an Oregon resident. Our dmv is closed still. Then there is a tax stamp required, as I bought a new vehicle out of state. I will be on trip permits for a while it seems.

The bike is a 2020 model, had 1 mile on the odo. I paid roughly $4700 to the dealer, I paid the 0.5% tax to Oregon revenue dept ($23), and $80 to the dmv. Not bad for an impulse buy.

I have a rear rack and a shinko 241 front tire on order.

As I plan on going remote a lot, is there any basic tools to supplement the factory kit?

·
Registered
20,487 Posts
(y)(y). Congratulations!

Tools? Depends on how much you want to carry , and are capable of carrying. So this is a very subjective subject. Some like to be prepared for a long list of potential repairs but the more weight the less nimble the bike becomes with a greater probability of premature rider fatigue.

My first remote issues with a new TW were rear tire punctures. I've pursued aerosol canned replacement air, CO2 cartridges, slow riding with a flat , or my current favorite is a small air compressor to supply make-up air as needed for a ride out of the woods. For me fixing a flat trailside seems to take too many tools with too much chance of something going wrong leaving rider in an even worse situation.

For flat prevention I highly recommend adding RideOn sealant/balancer.