TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the TW200 and new to motorcycles in general but I'm really excited to get into it and start learning. I live on Oahu so I'm mostly gonna use it for cruising on the perimeter trails around Kahuku and on the streets in the North Shore. I just bought a 2014 from the dealer with 0 miles on it. I read through the owners manual a few times cover to cover and then I took it for a few rides this weekend. Ive been checking the oil level before and after every ride. It might have gone down a little after the first couple (been kinda excited about it so taking it out a couple times a day) but after i brought it back home tonight the oil level looks completely empty.

Did i do something wrong? was i supposed to change oil sooner? manual says change after 600 mi. Also, there's no oil spilling out of the engine anywhere, is it possible it could burn that much when its new? Any information would be greatly appreciated, Thank yoU!!

·
Super Moderator
17,625 Posts
Welcome to the forum!!

Gas mileage and oil consumption will suffer a little until the engine gets broken in. This can take up to 2000 miles before you notice everything stabilizing. Keep close watch on the oil just as you are doing. You should not wait until the 600 mile check to change the oil. Do it early and often throughout your break in period. You will extend the life of your bike tremendously if you do. For instance: Oil change at 50 miles, 200, 500, 1000, 1500, 2000. Since it only holds a little over a quart and oil is cheap, this is a great way to get a lot of mileage out of your bike. Your bike will love you for it. And again, Welcome!! :D

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4