TW200 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new here, I am 26 with a wife and 2 children. I have no bike. I live in Michigan, YAY WINTERS nooo rust :( . I spent about 6 months researching on my car before I purchased it to give you insight as to why I'm here, and not owning a bike as of this moment. In all I have convinced my wife to allow us both to take the training courses, and after doing alot of research and over looking the tw200, I decided it will most likely be the bike for us as we are country bumpkins with woods all arounid

The Big thing that really turned me away from interest in the TW200 was the 196cc... As I want a bike for general commuting ( 20 miles to work ) and some simple fun riding. I am 265lbs of a man and was worried about the get up and go, but after reading about 30 pages from the advrider.com TW thread I am convinced it will work for my 55mph needs. I am also a complete beginner with riding motor bikes as well as my wife, she is convinced she wants a scooter but the riding class uses TW for learning so YAY!

Sorry If there is a subforum I didnt spot for introductions, move as needed mods ;)

·
Registered
124 Posts
Welcome.
I am about 270ibs and 55-60 MPH is about maximum on my bike. The rear tire is a fat, heavy ATV tire.
I am about 5'10" or so and I feel a little cramped on the bike.
Having said that I have had many dual sports and the TW200 is the work horse that I will never sell. I enjoy riding it and have made some mods to it that increase the fun factor.
My wife loves this TW.
If you outgrow it, you can always sell it and get much of your $$ back. Or keep it and get a bigger bike. The DR650 is a good alternative to a TW200 (at least for me).
Simba

mine on a nearby farm road.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts