TW200 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new Ricochet skid plate on the way. I have read post here about increased engine noise with the skid plate installed and it seems some here have come up with various solutions including coating with truck bed liner. I have been thinking of coating the inner side of the plate with Plasti Dip. I read that it can withstand temps up to 200 F and I doubt the skid plate would get that hot, right? Have any of you tried Plasti Dip on the Ricochet skid plate?

·
Registered
1,861 Posts
Why don't you just put it on when you get it and see if the awful sounds folks are reporting really bothers you. Some folks are more sound sensitive than others.
I added a Ricochet about a month after I bought my TW and all I hear is a little 200cc motorcycle engine putt-putting. And I work as a sound engineer on occasion.

I have skid/bash plates on 3 of my motorcycles and other than sometimes being in the way of a clear oil change drop, none of them have bothered me audibly.
Yes, try it out first. There's a app that you can use with your phone called Decibel Meter. I think the lowest version is free at the App Store. Check it out at your ear or by your helmet before you get and install the Ricochet. Then again at the ear after. There should or would be negligible increase (meaning some but not a lot).

All Winter when I'm wearing a full-face helmet my Ural sounds just like my BMW's. When it gets warmer and I sometimes use a 3/4 helmet it sounds like a clanking frying pan of marbles. Shape of your helmet affect audible effects as well.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
“ A clacking frying pan of marbles” lol “ Is this sound my motor makes normal” YES. Still laughing.

·
Registered
466 Posts
i had a can of bed liner and put several coats, top and bottom on my skid plate. I never ran it without the liner on it so no comparison, but I did not notice a difference in noise level with the new skid plate installed.