TW200 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've been reading up about available, or lack of, tire choices and had settled on the shinko 241 to change out the deathwing, which has already got me both on n off road ? problem is I live in Spain. Nobody stocks them here but I did find another 2 European stockists but they both can only offer me the tubeless 242 telling me it can be used with tube. Does anyone have any experience of this? I have also been looking at the Pirelli MT21 and Maxxis M6006. I ride mostly gravel tracks, woods n will be doing rocky mountain tracks. I havent seen much mud but would want something capable if I do. Beach riding might also be an option. I know it's impossible to get a tire to do all this well but would be good just to have some fresh opinions on the alternatives as I've read many many opinions but they all seem to be older posts.
I've only just bought the bike 3 months ago n I'm new to off roading. It's a 2008 n has both electric and kickstart ?

·
Registered
1,765 Posts
I run the MT43 on my TW and love it. Another tire to look into is the Mitas ET01.
A trials tire will hook up in all the conditions you ride in. You just need to keep the pressure low. I run around 8 psi.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Hi Ash and welcome here. A tuneless tire can be run with a tube, but converting the rim to tubeless is a better option for me. Tubeless has the advantage of not immediately going flat if you have a puncture.

I still have the deathwing on my bike since I bought it 18 months ago and as soon as I have the money I'll look for a replacement.

Just got a catlougue from Shinko in South Africa and I see they list a E700 in 130/80-18. Has anyone tried that?

·
Registered
20,648 Posts
One can seal the spokes as Andre points out and simply run the available Shinko 242 tubeless.
Spoke sealing is not a difficult task, saves weight, and can add flexibility to a trailside flat repair.

Reactions: Keep On Dubbin!