TW200 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no knowledge of petro-chemistry or chemistry in general, so what do any of the experts think of this product.

My first thoughts are snake oil but as I said I am not educated in this field.

One of my bikes has a plastic fuel tank and I have heard that ethanol can cause problems with tanks expanding and distorting.

Thanks for any input.

See link > http://www.frost.co.uk/item_Detail.asp?productID=9727

·
Banned
10,664 Posts
As long as ethanol is in your fuel, you are going to have problems. This product may reduce those problems, but you are still going to have problems.

Better to find a fuel supply without ethanol. If you can't find a supply of rthanol-free petrol, it is easy to separate ethanol form contaminated fuel. Simply add 5% by volume distilled water to you contaminated fuel, stir will, then allow to sit for a couple hours. The water and ethanol will combine and settle to the bottom. Pour the purified petrol off the top. This petrol will be a few octane lower than it was with the ethanol, so either start with petrol of higher octane than your engine requires or add a volume of toluene equal to the volume of ethanol removed to the purified petrol to restore octane. As a final treatment I filter the petrol through a chamois to remove any dust or dirt or remaining water.

The water-ethanol mix that settles out of the petrol makes a dandy weed killer that cuts way down on my yard work.

Tdub hates contaminated gasoline. Switching from one to the other is a 8-11kph difference in top speed.

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Qwerty, all UK petrol now contains 5% ethanol and it's due to increase in 2013.

I suppose some protection is better than no protection and one bottle will treat 50 UK gallons so not too expensive.

I am always cynical of additives. It's like emotional blackmail, "If you CARE for your bike,car, boat, or whatever you must have this".