TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
2,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This seems to have turned into an annual event. I entered the Hare Scramble at the Horn Rapids Moto Complex in Richland, WA for the second year in a row. After racing in it last year, I told myself that I would never do it again. Not that I didn’t have fun, it just seemed that I was out of my league. Well, I have had a lot of practice this last year. I made myself go to the sand dunes and practice riding in the sand. I weigh less and am stronger this year. I felt more confident in my skills and in my TW. So when my father in-law asked if I wanted to do it again, I said, “Heck yeah, let’s do it!”

Last year I had no clue what to do. How do I start? Where do I go? This year I had it down. I was a seasoned veteran.

I signed up for the same class as last year. Two ten mile long laps for a total of 20 miles.

In the riders meeting, the announcer said that they took out some of the whoops because most riders didn’t like them. Fine with me, there was a lot and I got tired last year. Then one guy in the crowd raised his hand and said, “I was one of the guys on the bulldozer and I took out some of the whoops, but I made some small jumps and some are razorbacks.” He went on to tell us to be careful because some of the jumps are hard to see, even though they are marked with yellow tape.

Jumps? Oh, crap. Now I have to watch out for jumps I can’t see.

The announcer went on to say that part of the race will be run on part of the motocross track.

Ok, now I have to watch out for invisible jumps and I’ll be racing on the motocross track! I saw the motocross track on the way in and those jumps/hills are huge!

Now I’m all nervous, but had already paid my money so I figured what the heck, let’s do this!