TW200 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tuesday I started training for a new job. This meant that nothing productive was going to get done on Monday except motorcycling

Completed a 162 mile loop which took a duration of 7+hrs (
) - This included everything from one of the nastiest trails around to some of the largest state highways around. Basically a "true dual sport" trip to clear the mind and prepare mentally for a major life change. Here is a map. Picture it continuing from the end back to the beginning, and me not being too lazy to finish it...

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msid=200696098913878066003.0004befc90c9c69c89d20&msa=0&ll=44.423973,-74.481812&spn=0.704186,1.766052

Starting off, rode out of town on gravel and secondary roads to get the bike inspected for the year. $6 and 10 minutes later, the tw200 and I were back on the road.

Stopped to check out an abandoned farm along the way

After a decent stretch of 55mph county road, it was time to hit the secondary roads again and go searching for the terminus of a road that we used to take on our atv's when we were kids. Did not manage to find that particular road, but did instead find the fabled "Boyd Pond Trail" of our youth, one of the muddiest, rockiest, awesomest atv trails around.

After some not-so-bad rocky downhill descents, it started to get interesting-er. It dropped down into a beaver pond basin and then had a muddy ascent up into the ridges beyond...

Now, the pictures don't make it seem that bad. That's because it wasn't that bad yet. This trail however, has an interesting history. It crosses private land but had been open to public use from before the early 1960s until the late 1990s, when the private property changed hands and the trail was gated. It is now open again and being traversed regularly by ATVs.