TW200 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time pulling the spark plug on my 2103 TW, (3100 miles) and haven't done any spark plugs before on any vehicle (never needed too).

Looking at my spark plug can I get some feedback as to how it looks?

OK? Too Lean? Too rich? If too lean or rich, should I make any adjustments? And what adjustments should I make?

I am currently running a Jet Kit and have it set up as ProCycle's starting point setup of a #122.5 Main Jet, #34 Pilot Jet, and 1 shim.

image.jpg image.jpg

Thanks for the advice, Dan

Super Moderator
You probably don't need to go a mile, perhaps a half a mile. Take it briskly through the gears, ending up in 5th and WOT for a good little bit, then kill it, yank the clutch in, pull the plug, put in a spare, head home and look at it closely and go from there.

Super Moderator
You want to get a good light and look down on the side of the insulator. You want to see a chocolate brownish ring down there. (A correct plug chop would entail cutting some of the threads off so you could really see, that's why they call it a plug chop, but try a good light first. The color might be instantly recognizable.) If it is that color (chocolate brown) or a tiny bit darker, the main jet is right. If it is lighter colored than that or whitish, it's too lean and you need a richer main.

You can check the shimming on the needle (flat spot mid throttle) the same way if you do your plug chop exactly halfway between off throttle and WOT. If it's light colored, you need one more shim or more. If it is chocolate colored or a tiny bit more, it's probably correctly adjusted.

Better on the slightly rich side, than lean.

Hope that helps, keep us posted.

Carb adjustments should be the last thing you do as far as adjusting and tuning on the engine. So, in other words, the valves would have been adjusted, the air filter serviced, new gas filter, stuff like that.

Super Moderator