TW200 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I'm a newb with some of this stuff...sorry
. So, I just bought the Pro Taper bars as it seems they would be easiest to install...Well, not for me...LOL. Two questions...1. The numbers on the ends of the bars seem to indicate where you would maybe cut the bars to match the stock length of the exsisting bars? Is that right? Otherwise, it doesn't seem that the cables will be long enough without getting new ones. Seconds, I'm assuming that I have to cut off the stock grips and get new ones?

Thanks for the patience guys. I went up one tooth on the front sprocket and it has made a huge difference on the street!!!

·
Registered
96 Posts
Yes, I'm a newb with some of this stuff...sorry
. So, I just bought the Pro Taper bars as it seems they would be easiest to install...Well, not for me...LOL. Two questions...1. The numbers on the ends of the bars seem to indicate where you would maybe cut the bars to match the stock length of the exsisting bars? Is that right? Otherwise, it doesn't seem that the cables will be long enough without getting new ones. Seconds, I'm assuming that I have to cut off the stock grips and get new ones?

Thanks for the patience guys. I went up one tooth on the front sprocket and it has made a huge difference on the street!!!
Welcome,I have a 94 model with the protaper bars,and I left them at stock length.I had to reroute some cables is all.And yes you will need new grips.P.S. cut or don't cut, it's a personal choice.Myself I like the extra added length.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome,I have a 94 model with the protaper bars,and I left them at stock length.I had to reroute some cables is all.And yes you will need new grips.P.S. cut or don't cut, it's a personal choice.Myself I like the extra added length.

So you're saying that, although the new bars are about an inch longer, that the stock cables should be fine?

·
Registered
43 Posts